The strange feeling of feeling lonely in a room full of people

I haven’t been writing in a while. Been traveling for the past 3, almost 4 weeks and before that I had some planning to do.  Will be traveling for at least 3 months all together. I’m currently working on a project together as a volunteer with 10 other people that I met for the first time a few days ago. We all have the same goal and are all social and caring people. But I always find it hard to find my place in a group of people. Even though I always participate and take initiative and are the social person I know that I am, and even though I always try to stay true to myself by trying my best being me I feel out of place and sometimes insecure and lonely. I often feel like I’m missing something, that I don’t know what people are talking about. I’ve had good first days in this new group and I feel that I’ve connected with a few more than others, which is natural. People ask me to join them in activities and such, so why do I sometimes feel like this? It’s not only here. I talk about this phenomenon in general. I tend to feel out of place and like an outsider even though there isn’t anything in particular that I can point out that could be the reason. I guess it’s all in my head and my own insecurity. Oh well. It always takes time for me to find my place in a group of people. I know I will probably feel like this every now and then. It’s just weird.

One thought on “The strange feeling of feeling lonely in a room full of people

Leave a Reply

